Niq Mhlongo

Niq Mhlongo

Niq Mhlongo is a Sowetan-born writer, educator, editor, and a travel journalist who graduated from Wits University with a BA degree (African Literature and Political Studies) in 1997. He has written four novels – Dog Eat Dog (2004), After Tears (2007), Way Back Home (2013), and Paradise in Gaza (2020)– and a collection of short stories, Affluenza (2016), and Soweto, Under the Apricot Tree (2018). He also edited a bestselling collection of essays called Black Tax, Burden or Ubuntu (2019), two short story anthologies called Joburg Noir (2020), and Hauntings (2021). His novel Dog Eat Dog won the Spanish Literary Award called MAR DER LETRAS INTENECIONALE in 2006. His collection of short stories, Soweto Under The Apricot Tree won the HERMAN CHARLES BOSMAN LITERARY PRIZE FOR ENGLISH FICTION and the NADINE GORDIMER SHORT-STORY AWARD in 2019. Joburg Noir anthology won the National Institute for the Humanities and Social Science Best Fiction Edited Volume. Niq’s works have been translated into several languages, including Burmese, French, Dutch, Flemish, German, Spanish, and Italian. His books have been prescribed in several universities, including New York University, Massachusetts University, Southampton University, and Vanderbilt University. Dog Eat Dog and After Tears were adapted into radio drama series by the BBC, Bush Radio, SAFM, and Swedish Radio. His short stories Nailed and Soweto Under the Apricot Tree have been adapted into theatre plays by the Market Theatre and The Bosman Literary Festival at the Groot Marico respectively. Niq has been a writing fellow in different institutions around the world, including the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa, USA, Sylt Foundation, Germany, Akademie der Kunste der Welt Cologne, Literarisches Colloquium Berlin, Mellon Foundation Artist in Residency University of KwaZulu-Natal, Mellon Foundation Artist in Residency University of Pretoria, Johannesburg Institute of Advanced Studies (JIAS). He was the 2020 recipient of the DAAD Artist-in Residency, Berlin. He has facilitated creative writing workshops in countries such as Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia, Switzerland, Tanzania, Ghana, Nigeria, and South Africa. He was one of Denaane judges in 2017 and curated The Time of the Writer literary festival in 2019. He was the City Editor of the online magazine called Johannesburg Review of Books (JRB) and freelanced for few South African Inflight Magazines. His new collection of short stories will be published in May 2022 by Kwela Books.

Dog Eat Dog (2013)

Way Back Home (2013) | Way Back Home (German, 2015)

Affluenza (2016)

Black Tax (2019)

Paradise in Gaza (2020)

Joburg Noir (2020)

Hauntings (2021)

For You, I’d Steal a Goat (2022)